The Seven Stages of Dementia

Seven Stages of Dementia

Stage 1:
No cognitive impairment

* Unimpaired individuals experience no memory problems and none are evident to a health care professional during a medical interview.

Stage 2:
Very mild cognitive decline

* Individuals at this stage feel as if they have memory lapses, especially in forgetting words or names or the location of keys, eyeglasses, or other everyday objects.  But these problems are not evident during a medical examination or apparent to friends, family or co-workers.

Stage 3:
Mild cognitive decline

* Friends, family or co-workers begin to notice deficiencies.
Problems with memory or concentration may be measurable in clinical testing or discernible during a detailed medical interview. Common difficulties include:
*Word- or name-finding problems noticeable to family or close associates
*Decreased ability to remember names when introduced to new people
*Performance issues in social or work settings noticeable to family, friends or co-workers
*Reading a passage and retaining little material
*Losing or misplacing a valuable object
*Decline in ability to plan or organize

Stage 4:
Moderate cognitive decline
At this stage, a careful medical interview detects clear-cut
deficiencies in the following areas
*Decreased knowledge of recent occasions or current events
*Impaired ability to perform challenging mental arithmetic-for example, to count backward from 100 by 7s
*Decreased capacity to perform complex tasks, such as marketing, planning dinner for guests or paying bills and managing finances
*Reduced memory of personal history
*The affected individual may seem subdued and withdrawn, especially in socially or mentally challenging situations

Stage 5:
Moderately severe cognitive decline
Major gaps in memory and deficits in cognitive function emerge.
Some assistance with day-to-day activities becomes essential.

At this stage, individuals may:
*Be unable during a medical interview to recall such important details as their current address, their telephone number or the name of the college or high school from which they graduated
*Become confused about where they are or about the date, day of the week, or season
*Have trouble with less challenging mental arithmetic; for example, counting backward from 40 by 4s or from 20 by 2s
*Need help choosing proper clothing for the season or the occasion
*Usually retain substantial knowledge about themselves and know their own name and the names of their spouse or children
*Usually require no assistance with eating or using the toilet

Stage 6:
Severe cognitive decline
Memory difficulties continue to worsen, significant personality
changes may emerge and affected individuals need extensive help with customary daily activities

At this stage, individuals may:
*Lose most awareness of recent experiences and events as well as of their surroundings
*Recollect their personal history imperfectly, although they generally recall their own name
*Occasionally forget the name of their spouse or primary caregiver but generally can distinguish familiar from unfamiliar faces
*Need help getting dressed properly; without supervision, may make such errors as putting pyjamas over daytime clothes or shoes on wrong feet
*Experience disruption of their normal sleep/waking cycle
*Need help with handling details of toileting (flushing toilet, wiping and disposing of tissue properly)
*Have increasing episodes of urinary or fecal incontinence
*Experience significant personality changes and behavioral symptoms, including suspiciousness and delusions (for example, believing that their caregiver is an impostor); hallucinations (seeing or hearing things that are not really there); or compulsive, repetitive behaviors such as hand-wringing or tissue shredding
*Tend to wander and become lost

Stage 7:
Very severe cognitive decline

This is the final stage of the disease when individuals lose the ability to respond to their environment, the ability to speak and, ultimately, the ability to control movement.
*Frequently individuals lose their capacity for recognizable speech, although words or phrases may occasionally be uttered
*Individuals need help with eating and toileting and there is general incontinence of urine
*Individuals lose the ability to walk without assistance, then the ability to sit without support, the ability to smile, and the ability to hold their head up. Reflexes become abnormal and muscles grow rigid. Swallowing is impaired.

Taken from:

Other versions are available, but I like the simplicity of this version.

From the Seven Ages of Man to the Seven Stages of Dementia.   To be continued.


Filed under dementia, growing older

6 responses to “The Seven Stages of Dementia

  1. Pingback: The furnace of dementia care in the UK « Care in the UK

  2. Pingback: Seven steps to end the scandal of malnutrition in hospital « Care in the UK

  3. Pingback: Seven Ps for the Vision for Adult Social Care | Care in the UK

  4. jackie

    I refuse to “give in” to dementia. It has been 2 years of “memory impairment ‘
    and I will not surrender! I have read the “science” researched the “knowledge
    base” listened to “wise men” speak of the horrors of cognitive decline. And
    “no” hell no I will not surrender!

  5. Pingback: Dementia 'the defining modern tragedy' and health training for care staff | Adult Care Blog

  6. Pingback: Dementia 'the defining modern tragedy' and health training for care staff | Adult Care Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s