Dear Claire Rayner

Dear Claire

With your departure, not only has your dear family lost your big and much loved presence, but the world has lost a genuinely lovely person.  I know that you won’t mind for one moment the way I’ve just described you, because you had a wonderful sense of humour and a very special talent.  You were one of the most honest and generous people I have ever met in my life, generous with your time,  your loving care and your heart.

You were that ray of sunshine in my life, when we worked together for a while back in the late 1970s/early 1980s.  You had no idea how special you were to me then, because I was a beginner, with much to learn about the way our world works, and I don’t think I ever told you.  But I think you probably knew, just by your sparkle, your smile.  You taught me more than I ever thanked you for then.

It was only later, many years after our lives went their separate and very different ways, that I discovered that we had grown up in the same part of the world, went to the same school (same but different – and I know you will understand what I mean by that!), and then went through many personal experiences that were so closely connected.  Again, same but different.  Neither you nor I knew it then, though, when we shared a few years of our working lives.

That’s all for now, Claire.  I will remember forever the many special times you were kind enough to share with me, and with many others.

You made a special difference to my life, and for that I will always thank you.

PS.  Don’t worry, Claire  – we’ll be watching what David Cameron is up to with your beloved NHS.  And if he screws it up, we’ll be on the case!

Leave a comment

Filed under care

Leave a Reply

