Whistleblowing in the sphere of Vulnerable Adults

My thanks to Fighting Monsters AMHP for bringing to my attention a Report from Public Concern at Work about whistleblowing in the care sector.

The title of the report – Speaking up for vulnerable adults: What the whistleblowers say – speaks for itself, almost, and is available here for anyone interested.

I’ve read it twice now; it’s only 21-pages long and it’s very well written indeed.  I’m going to read it a third time before I comment any further, but I just wanted to say a quick thank you to Fighting Monsters and to Public Concern at Work for allowing me to see, in part, the reasons why I was beginning to think that the pea had been stolen from my whistle, over the recent years of my own attempts to blow it in the ears of those charged with providing decent standards of care in the UK.

“Public Concern at Work is the leading independent authority on whistleblowing in the UK. We run a free advice line for those who have witnessed crime, danger or wrongdoing at work.”  I wish I’d heard of Public Concern at Work  before now – because I could have pointed a few people in the right direction.

It’s not just my pea that’s been stolen.

If I forget to return to this report, I’ll be surprised – or it may mean that I’ve been abducted.

4 Comments

Filed under abuse, care, care homes, neglect

4 responses to “Whistleblowing in the sphere of Vulnerable Adults

  1. leo

    i have been suspended for 9 months from my post due to anonymous complaint raised against me, co-incidentally after i supported 4 staff in whistleblowing against a colleague. I also “whistleblew” and from doing so have found myself in a position that is traumatic to say the least. I had not heard of this organisation before, but since reading your post, i have contacted them about my situation.
    I have always used my voice and morals to challenge bad practise, but left wondering whether i would ever do it again due to my resulting situation.

    • careintheuk

      Leo, I can only applaud your honesty and willingness to speak out on behalf of those who perhaps can’t do so for themselves. At the same time, I’m sorry to hear of the consequences for you and I hope that your situation will be resolved to your satisfaction. It should not be so, but it shows the weakness of those who can’t be challenged if they have to abuse their position. I wish you every success in achieving a good outcome.

  2. paul

    The care commission are no good and are in league with the artificial gloss of how things are supposed to be instead of how they really are. Who should I really contact if I really want to bring some people to task (neglectful managers whove never even met their residents and cause havoc as muchh as they can)anyone who has any ideas leave them here? thanks any help would be appreciated

  3. paul

    okay public concern at work ..see it now

Leave a Reply

